Which male & female players will scoop FIFA Ballon d’Or 2013?

Posted by

womenforfootball.com – First, let me begin by saying Happy New Year to all dear followers of this blog and wishing you all the best and all the football excitement you dream!

Year 2014 is going to be a year of excitement with many important football events; Including 2014 FIFA World Cup games, FIFA U-20 women’s World Cup games here in Canada, and FIFA U-17 women’s World Cup in Chile.

To start 2014, the next anticipation will be January 13th, when FIFA will announce Best Player of 2013 or Ballon d’Or winner for both female and male football players. ballon d'Or 2013

The 3 female players who got the most votes for 2013 FIFA Ballon d’Or are:

-Germany goalkeeper Nadine Angerer

– Brazil’s Marta (who has won the honor five times running)

– Abby Wambach from the US national team.

The 3 male players who got the most votes for 2013 FIFA Ballon d’Or are:

-Barcelona’s Lionel Messi,

-Real Madrid’s Cristiano Ronaldo

-Bayern Munich’s Frank Ribery.

Amongst male coaches:

– Former Bayern Munich’s manager, Jupp Heyknes

– Borussia Dortmund’s Jurgen Klopp

-Retired Manchester United legend, Alex Ferguson.

I was personally shocked that American Wambach was among shortlist, but Canada’s Christine Sinclair was voted out from original list.

Among female coaches 3 coaches who got highest votes are:

-Germany”s National team manager, Silvia Neid.

-Wolfsburg’s Treble-winning coach, Ralf Kellerman

-Sweden’s Women National team coach, Pia Sunhage.

Germany is also represented in the women’s coaching category, with national team coach Silvia Neid among the top three for that prize. Ralf Kellermann, head coach of the treble-winning Wolfsburg, is also in contention, as is Sweden’s national team coach, Pia Sundhage.

It is worth mentioning that male and female Ballon D’Or Award winners differ in a sense that male football players are chosen based on their goalscoring or team achievement at club level. Whereas in female football players’ case, due o lack of consistent club competition, they are mostly rated based on their national team’s achievement and women players’ share in success of their national team.

So who do you think will scoop FIFA  Ballon d’Or 2013? Messi or Ronaldo or Ribery? I’m betting on Ronaldo this time as he has been incredibly consistent in 2013.

And which female player will take the Award home?! Its  close call but I think it’ll be USA’s Wambach taking the glory home.

We shall wait and see on January 13th. Who do you think will win the Awards?!


  1. Leo messi will walk away with the ballon D’or for the fifth time I believe that, no one deserve the award than leo and leo merrit everything to the end. In order to not waste time fifa should crown messi again. Ride on king of the planet


    1. Thanks for your feedback Jacadex. You think so? Interesting thought, and although I’d agree that he deserve it, his injuries and Ronaldo’s superb run both at Real and Portugal may work against Messi’s votes I think. We’ll find out tomorrow!


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.